Jay Cross - University of Calgary

Vice Chair

Steve Morgan Jones -  Amaethon Agricultural Solutions Inc.


David Andrews

Stan Blade - University of Alberta

John Brown -  EDT

Stewart Cressman - Canadian Swine Health Board (Vice Chair)

Jamie Curran - AAF

Francois Eudes -  AAFC

Cornelia Kreplin - Alberta Innovates Bio Solutions

Fred Lozeman

Graham Plastow - Livestock Gentec

Brian Van Doormaal - Canadian Dairy Network


David Bailey -Genome Alberta

Kirk Rockwell - Alberta Innovates Technology Futures



James (Jay) Cross is an expert in animal reproduction and molecular genetics particularly in the areas of embryo implantation, placentation and pregnancy outcome. He was founding Director of the Alberta Children's Hospital Research Institute of Child & Maternal Health, a multi-disciplinary institute focused on biomedical, clinical and social aspects of child health, and initiated the Training Program in Genetics, Child Development & Health and the Clara Christie Centre for Genomics & Modeling of Human Disease. He is a Scientist of the Alberta Heritage Foundation for Medical Research and Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences. Major awards include a Premier's Research Excellence Award of Ontario in 1999, Investigator of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research in 2001, Research Scientist of the Year Award from the Association of Professors of Obstetrics & Gynecology in 2005, and Pioneer Award from the Frontiers in Reproduction Program at the Marine Biology Laboratory, USA in 2009

Steve Morgan Jones

David Andrews

Stan Blade UofA

John Brown EDT

Stewart Cressman was employed as a Dairy Cattle Specialist with OMAFRA until 1980, when he left to take over a fourth generation farming operation. He is a former Director of Ontario Pork, but is still Chair of their Research Committee; board member of the Canadian Swine Health Board and chairs their Research Advisory Committee; serves on the board of the Canadian Swine Research and Development Cluster; and, board member and Secretary/Treasurer of BIO (Beef Improvement Opportunities). Mr. Cressman is also Chair of the Agricultural Research Institute of Ontario (ARIO), and is Vice-Chair of the ARIO Infrastructure Committee.

Jamie Curran is the Assistant Deputy Minister for the Food Safety and Technology Sector at Alberta Agriculture and Rural Development. Jamie is also the government representative for the Rural Alberta Development Fund and Marketing Council boards. Jamie was raised on a farm in rural Alberta and has worked as a college instructor, environmental consultant and in various positions throughout the Government of Alberta, including the departments of Environment, Sustainable Resource Development, Education and Health and Wellness.

François Eudes is the Director of Research, Development, and Technology for Alberta and is based at the Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada Research and Development Centre in Lethbridge. Dr. Eudes leads a team of 67 scientists, 10 additional science leads, and guides research and development investments and innovation to support seven agriculture sectors: Agri-Food; Agroecosystem Productivity and Health; Cereals and Pulses; Dairy, Pork and other Livestock; Forages and Beef; Horticulture; and Oilseeds. An additional focus for Dr. Eudes is his role as national lead for the Forages and Beef Sector Science Strategy (30 scientists located in nine provinces). Previous to his appointment as Director in 2015, Dr. Eudes began his career with AAFC in 2000 as a research scientist in Lethbridge. His research program focused on developing enabling technologies in tissue culture, genetic engineering and their applications in cereals. His accomplishments in cereal biotechnology research contributed to achieving senior research scientist status in 2013. Highlights of contributions included 50 peer-reviewed research papers, leading Lethbridge’s plant biotechnology program, and the development of microspore culture and Cell Penetrating Peptide mediated transfection technology in plants that lead to four patents and three PCT applications. Dr. Eudes holds an engineering degree in Agronomy (Nancy, France, 1992) and a PhD in Plant Science (University of Laval, Québec, 1998). He serves on Executive Committees with AAFC and is a Board Member with Livestock Gentec, an Alberta Innovates Bio Solutions Centre based at the University of Alberta, Edmonton.

Cornelia Kreplin is the Executive Director of Alberta Innovates Bio Solutions (Al-Bio). Her training in veterinary medicine and graduate degree in veterinary reproductive pathology led to a career with Alberta Agriculture. She served as the provincial reproductive pathologist and later as Alberta's Chief Provincial Veterinarian before accepting the challenge of building a Food Safety Division for the Ministry in 1999. As Director of Agriculture Research Division, she enabled Division staff to apply their research and innovative expertise in the development of new information to support Alberta's primary agricultural producers in meeting the needs of their customers and clients.

Fred Lozeman

Graham Plastow - Livestock Gentec

Brian Van Doormaal - Canadian Dairy Network

David Bailey obtained his PhD in Genetics and Animal Breeding at the University of Alberta in 1985. He began his career with Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada starting as a research scientist in Lethbridge, Alberta, and was later appointed to management postings as Research Centre Director in Charlottetown, PEI, and Lacombe, Alberta, before his appointment as Director General in 2003. He has published more than 60 peer-reviewed manuscripts and has received several awards for excellence in research and transferring research into commercialization, including the CSAS's Young Scientist Award and NRC-IRAP's Federal Partners in Technology Transfer. Dr. Bailey joined Genome Alberta as the President and CEO in April 2006. His plans are to take Genome Alberta to the forefront of the emerging Life-Sciences industries in Alberta.